#Wamathai911: A Review

I attended the much awaited Wamathai Spoken Word for September 2011 (hence the hashtag #Wamathai911, coined by yours truly;)) that was held on 4th this month at Secrets Lounge. Here is a few words about how the event went.

It was a Sunday. It was very cold and rainy. I almost refused to leave my house! But I braved the cold and went, I had promised to be there.

Secrets Lounge is a nice place. When you’re inside there, its very easy to forget what’s happening outside. Reminds me of Steps… but that’s a story for another day!

I went in late, the event had already started as I arrived an hour late. As usual, I did the needful and checked in via foursquare and started tweeting as I enjoyed the poetry and spoken word. I’m a poetry lover so it was very easy to keep me entertained. Sadly, I didn’t have a front row seat so I didn’t see much of what happened. Oh, and again, I didn’t keep track of the titles of the poems performers did but I can remember some of the emotions some of the pieces invoked within me.

The event was hosted by @ItsBUddhaBlaze and he did a stellar job. He kept reminding us to snap our fingers instead of clapping as is the way to applaud a performance in spoken word.

There was a nice funny performance by Nuru Bahati and I like the caption Reumac got here: “The truth is ugly even though you use Fair & Lovely”

Binti Mswahili aka @bintiM wowed us with two pieces. I particularly remember one of her pieces which was inspired by #tittytuesdays, where she poked and prodded at the demeaning nature of the said TT.

And who can forget the amazing piece by @ItsMugambi “Let It Never Be Said“. Powerful piece! He received many clicks during and after his performance. He also performed another piece called Never Let You Down.

I was elated to see @LarryMadowo in the house, and even more when he performed. It was funny to hear people make fun of him performing using his phone. But its still poetry, no? Hehehe!

And interestingly, other TV reporters/anchors were at the event. Apart from Larry, there was Henry Githaiga, who performed, and @bonneytunya.

I missed seeing @Mawazo_Mengi at the event but was happy to see @WanjikuMwaurah there & even perform one of her pieces. I also missed seeing Kevin “Man Njoro” at the event. And I wouldn’t forget mentioning @DaddieMarto.

Another highlight of the afternoon was a performance by the one and only Ngwatilo! She apparently barely made it to the event and even so, was not as well prepared, but having her perform one or two of her own pieces was just as good and no one would complain. Kudos.

@Ngwatilo on stage

Dan Number 8 also made it to the event, in a cast & crutches! If that is not dedication to your passion then I don’t know what is! Did he perform? I can’t remember. I don’t think so, correct me if I’m wrong.

I particularly enjoyed the performance by @Jemedariflows, @Xhosie & the other guy, “the human beat box” Checkmate!

Some of the quotes on the twitter hash tag #Wamathai911:

Any girl can make a man come bt only a woman can make a man stay

All men are CHEETAHS cause all women are DEERS

With a banana,2 eggs and mayonnaise a man can keep a woman’s tummy full for 9 months

All in all, Wamathai September 2011 was really good. I was happy that there was less booze so less noise and more spoken word entertainment. I even enjoyed Pozi’s performance, despite peeps leaving while he performed. I like his music.

For a visual presentation, click away onto Reumac’s Blog. I love the way he’s done a slideshow of all the pics he took. Amazing work! Great clarity, well captured.

And that, was Wamathai911!

5 Responses to “#Wamathai911: A Review”

  1. tjilani Says:

    Said as it is. The show was great…despite the attendance due to the rain I believe; loved every bit of it.

    • Joliea Says:

      @tjilani

      Thanks for the comment & for attending (on behalf of Wamathai)

  2. James Wetu Says:

    i never attended but it seems it was great fun,is it a monthly thing?

    • Joliea Says:

      @Mwanetu,

      Thanks for your comment. It was indeed a whole lot of fun. And yes, it shouldbe monthly but Wamathai.com organises it as and when they feel fit. Check my blog frequently for the event announcement.

      Barbra

  3. What next for Poetry in Kenya? « Esematics Says:

    […] #Wamathai911: A Review (joliea.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLinkedInEmailStumbleUponDiggPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]


Leave a Reply

