Kenyans Arise!

I had a buzz of inspiration today when talking to my colleague. He was telling me that one of the reasons why he’s going to vote for Uhuru Kenyatta (YES! I said the name, now get me for hate-speech or whatever!) is because he feels he’s the most viable person to take this country far.

My simple rationale for who I am going to vote for is this: what is their track record? If s/he has been notorious for being on TV for all the wrong reasons time and again, you really expect me to consider them at all? How?

Then he (my colleague) told me something else. He said that he “doesn’t see Kenyans voting for someone else other than Uhuru or Raila” and he actually thinks Raila will win. Fine. But he’s basis was that for some reason, some African or Kenyan reason, its a race between the two. I smell something not nice. And I won’t say it.

Basically, and to cut this short, I am sick and tired of us Kenyans voting for the same crap over and over again. We have seen these people for years on end and all we do is complain about them. I simply cannot understand how, when you’re the employer, you can say how an employee is time and again failed you and lost or stolen your hard earned cash in your business and you keep renewing their contract. Because for real, these people, these MPs are our employees. Untill we are able to view how much we have power over them is when we are going to see some serious revolution in this country. Untill we actually realise that the constitution we passed has increased our power and tightened structures to ensure we get what we deserve is when we will have a glimpse of Utopia.

People, its OUR time to eat. Ours. We Kenyans. We ordinary Wananchi. Its up to us to make the change we want to see. We know how to yap yap yap but can we walk the talk? Till when will we let the people we vote for kanyaga kanyaga us like we are thigiriri? Are you a thigiriri? By letting them do what they want you’re turning over power to them. Let us not be fooled. It is US who have the power, not them. Because I am very sure, that is the notion we have. Yes, even you who earns a measly 0.1% of what your employee (MP) gets, have power over him because why, he is your employee.

KENYANS ARISE! GET RID OF ALL THE CRAP!

And remember, we have a caveat. If an MP does something silly, we can remove him! Make sure you vote for someone you trust.

Its about time.

Enough of politics, let me get back to work.

*Over & Out*

11 Responses to “Kenyans Arise!”

  1. dee Says:

    This is the smartest thing anyone has said in a long time…if we can all change our mentality, this country would be destined for greatness.

  2. wyndago Says:

    First, I don’t think its fair that you mentioned a politician’s name. Anyone can see how you feel about this politician and your arguments are purely subjective. If you are mad, channel your anger the right way and start making change yourself. If you think there is nothing you can do (which is a feeling most Kenyans share, I presume) then sit down and… lets not fight individual politicians because we don’t like them, lets fight the vices in them! At the end of the day they are Kenyans and we should at least like them if not love them. Lets curb the hate and promote peace!!

    • Joliea Says:

      @wyndago, Uhuru was used as an example. My story started from a conversation about him. The post is about politicians and politics in general and is not in anyway directed to any certain individual. Check again.

      >________________________________

      • wyndago Says:

        Oh I checked, again and again.

  3. amarieadhis Says:

    I’m so disillusioned with all these folks. I’m actually a Martha Karua supporter so yesterday I was so excited….until I realized that nowhere in her speech did she mention HOW she was going to develop Kenya. She kept on saying what Kenya should be, never mentioning how she herself planned on getting us there. Let’s just say that I’m voting by issues in 2012 and until I see the person with a concrete plan, I’ll just keep my vote to myself.

    • wyndago Says:

      My thoughts, have what you want in your mind. Have the solutions yourself instead of waiting for the presidential aspirants to tell you, so that you can tell them what you want from them. That way you can match their thoughts and ideas against yours. Just a thought.

      • Joliea Says:

        @wyndago, That’s pretty fine, but honestly, do half of Kenyans believe that? Can they truly make the change they want to see without being swayed like olive branches?

        That’s my qualm with Kenyans. The problems we face currently are of our own doing. We brought them on ourselves.

        >________________________________

  4. Wamathai Says:

    We need to take charge of our destiny and bad leaders should be the first to go. We should elect leaders that are progressive & ones that share our vision and those that have our country’s interests at heart. Voting along tribal lines does not help and like someone once said, ‘Kuna kabila mbili tu, maskini na tajiri’..

  5. Sanya Says:

    True Joliena,kenyans need to arise…..well put and straight to the mark.i like.bigups.

  6. Savvy K Says:

    I wish someone inspiration would come up so we could vote for him/her.

  7. Forego That Pizza, Just This Once « Me I Think… Says:

    […] Kenyans Arise! […]


Leave a Reply

