Windows is so so weird!!!

[tweetmeme source=”Joliea” only_single=false]

A year ago when I joined this organization, I was introduced to Ubuntu. I’d seen it before, in cyber cafes especially, but never really understood how itoperated. Back then, Ubuntu was oh so weird! I was so so used to Windows. The blues, the clarity, the interface… so so much. Then I started using Ubuntu. My oh my, it was kinda hard adjusting to the different interface (that’s the word right? I ain’t no techie!) that it had. The Open Office idea… just the look made me just wonder in amazement. I was told it was organisational policy to use FOSS: Free and Open Source Software. Now that was news for me. What the eff is FOSS? Lemme google it.

Free and open source software (F/OSS, FOSS) or free/libre/open source software (FLOSS) is software that is liberally licensed to grant the right of users to use, study, change, and improve its design through the availability of its source code. This approach has gained both momentum and acceptance as the potential benefits have been increasingly recognized by both individuals and corporate players.

In the context of free and open source software, free refers to the freedom to copy and re-use the software, rather than to the price of the software. The Free Software Foundation, an organization that advocates the free software model, suggests that, to understand the concept, one should “think of free as in free speech, not as in free beer”.

Haha!

Fascinating! Free software! Yay! I being that tech-ish person was elated. I started exploring. I started discovering. I started liking it!

Nowadays am so so used to ubuntu that anytime i use windows i feel weird. The look, feel, interface, all feels weird to me. Its so interesting! Now they have windows 7. Did you know that i can spit in Gate’s face by a few clicks? I can make my ubuntu look & feel like windows 7! Infact, that’s what i did! While some people might think that its actually fuelling the expensive and popular windows but IMO its a slap in his face like *nye nye nye! we can be better!* LOL!

Anyway, for me, i am now Ubuntu all the way! I am now using Ubuntu 10.04 LTS. There is already Ubuntu 10.10 which was released on 10.10.10! Oh, and just ask some tweeps (for thy twirradict) and you’ll know I ain’t alone 🙂

Don’t be fooled, I repeat, I ain’t no techie!

*Over & Out*

10 Responses to “Windows is so so weird!!!”

  1. liga Says:

    Hey hey hey, I feel just like you… except I’ve been using paid-for-software for so long I didn’t know free stuff was this good!!

    • Joliea Says:

      @liga,

      You got it! Its so so cool!

  2. kri1987s Says:

    its good to know that a non techie out there is having a gnu/linux box and likes it much. However i bet you don’t do the shell that much, the “apt get” among others, they make my life so interesting. And your pic is wrong, William gates won’t go out of business any time soon even if all the world goes FOSS

    • Joliea Says:

      @kris,

      Thanks for commenting. I love Ubuntu.

  3. ngeny Says:

    Been using Ubuntu for the last 5 years and I can confidently say i aint going back to MS.
    Its easy to use, not too heavy on CPU use.. it just works 😉

    • Joliea Says:

      @ngeny,

      Thanks for commenting 🙂

  4. Tweets that mention Windows is so so weird!!! « Me I Think… -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Spartan Cat and Barbra Jolie, Barbra Jolie. Barbra Jolie said: Windows is so so weird!!!: http://wp.me/pRYFP-9d […]

  5. Patrick Says:

    Ubuntu is great I love it a lot so far although running it without a proper internet connection isn’t half as fun as it should be. Welcome to the club Ubuntu all the way!

    • Joliea Says:

      @Patrick,

      Hehe… Thanks 🙂

  6. mackel9 Says:

    Mmmmh food for thought


Leave a Reply

