30DC Day 2: The Meaning Behind My Name

[tweetmeme source=”Joliea” only_single=false]

Disclaimer: I know I’ve neglected this but for me, I shall do them (the 30DC posts) when I can and shall finish eventually!

Anyway, so Day two of the 30 Day Challenge is The Meaning Behind My Name.

So here goes…

Barbra, most-times spelt Barbara, is a female given name used in numerous languages. It is the feminine form of the Greek word barbaros (Greek: βαρβαρος) meaning “foreign” (see Barbarian). In Roman Catholic and Greek Orthodox tradition, Saint Barbara was martyred by her father, who was then punished with death by lightning. As such, St. Barbara is a protectress against fire and lightning. Other saints of this name include Barbara Avrillot (Barbe Aurillot, known as Marie of the Incarnation) and Barbara Koob (Marianne Cope).Today, Barbara remains among the top 100 most popular names for female babies born in Hungary, Chile and Slovenia. It is among the top 10 names given to baby girls born in both the Czech Republic and Georgia in 2009. Its popularity in the United States has declined from third place, in the 1930s, to 757th place, in 2008, though it rose again to 656th place in 2009 in the United States.

Jolie is a female given name of French origin and its meaning is pretty. It is pronounced zhoh-LEE. The name has also became popular after American actressAngelina Jolie used it as her surname (it is really her middle name). It can be also spelled as Jolee, or Joli.

So .. Barbra Jolie then would be (by definition) pretty foreigner!

Huh?? That aint me??!!

OK. Jokes aside. The real reason why I picked the name “Jolie” is not because of my obvious obsession girl-crush on Angelina Jolie, but rather, because of its name: Pretty. I am pretty. And I don’t mean just physical. But in and out. Its a trait most girls have and cherish and is cherished by others. I believe I  befit this. Also, Angelina Jolie is quite an inspirational woman to me. She’s beautiful (read: pretty!) she’s strong, and best of all, loves humanity! #OhSoLikeMe!!! Hehe!

The Killer Couple 😉

There  you have it.

*Over & Out*

4 Responses to “30DC Day 2: The Meaning Behind My Name”

  1. David Says:

    Nice!

    Enjoyed a pretty foreign post from the pretty foreigner! Waiting much for day 3.

    • Joliea Says:

      @David,

      Haha!! Thanks for commenting 😉

  2. bintimswahili Says:

    What’s the 30 Day Challenge?

    • Joliea Says:

      @binti,

      follow this link >> http://wp.me/pRYFP-5O


Leave a Reply

