Am I An Activist?

Yesterday I was having a conversation with a friend while sipping some cold ones despite the cold weather. We had just met and were getting to know each other. My friend is in college and is pursuing a course on hotel management. Then he asked me a question…

“What do you do?”

I paused. I hesitated. I thought. In my mind, I was thinking “I’m an activist.”. But then, lately I have been really questioning that. Lately I have been asking myself, when I say am an activist, do I really know what it means? Do I know what it entails? Can I seamlessly akin myself to other renowned activists beginner steps?

What does it mean?

This morning I decided to write about it…in my spontaneous nature…while I learn. Yes, I have work to do, but lemme do this one. I went to wikipedia. Duuh!

Activism consists of intentional action to bring about social, political, economic, or environmental change. This action is in support of, or opposition to, one side of an often controversial argument.
The word “activism” is used synonymously with protest or dissent, but activism can stem from any number of political orientations and take a wide range of forms from writing letters to newspapers or politicians, political campaigning, economic activism such as boycotts or preferentially patronizing businesses, rallies, street marches, strikes, both work stoppages and hunger strikes, or even guerrilla tactics.

Oh I see. “Intentional action to bring about social, political, economic or environmental change.”. That makes sense. Like Martin Luther King (social), akina Dedan Kimathi (political), or Wangari Maathai (environmental).

A book I gotta read: Wangari Maathai

Hmm… So where do I lie? I like social change. But wait, what is it that I do? I like what the vision for a certain organisation says:

“A Just and Egalitarian East Africa where all persons enjoy their rights and live in dignity.”

I wish to break that down.

Just: fair: free from favoritism or self-interest or bias or deception; conforming with established standards or rules

Egalitarian: classless: favoring social equality; “a classless society”

Rights: Rights are variously construed as legal, social, or moral freedoms to act or refrain from acting, or entitlements to be acted upon or not acted upon.

Dignity: the quality of being worthy of esteem or respect

I like this! There is still a whole spectrum of things to learn about and this is kinda like my passion. I love humanity. I think am an activist in one way or another. But I nowadays refrain from calling myself one. Maybe someday it will be clear. There is still time. I also think I’m a humanitarian. But that is a topic for another day.

Great day lovelies!

Share

6 Responses to “Am I An Activist?”

  1. Kennemwikya Says:

    An activist, in my opinion, is anyone who sees an inconsistency in the way in which human/minority/ environmental rights and policies are undertaken and goes to do all he/she can to set things straight. A one sided definition but in the kenyan context right now that’s what an activist is doing.

  2. blogoratti Says:

    Good luck with that passion of yours…

  3. cdohnio Says:

    I think you’ve brought about a little social and political change to me. So for me you’re an activist. You don’t really have to do big things to be an activist. I think what’s bothering you is that you’re not doing big things but remember that through this blog and you’re twitter stream you’re informing and changing us! But that’s just me I might be wrong:)

  4. Joliea Says:

    @Kennemwikya, Thanks. Indeed that’s being an activist.
    @blogoratti, Thanks. I will go along with it.

    @cdohnio, I am happy that my tweeting and blogging is bringing about social change. I shall go ahead and do more of it. Thanks.

  5. kw Says:

    I think it doesn’t necessarily have to be the action themselves even words alone can say a lot about what your stand is in bringing about change in the society which is what you do best…with all the tweets uv got on activism,need i say more?

    • Joliea Says:

      Thanks KW for this. I am glad that my efforts are being seen. And as always, a pleasure having you here 😀 mwah!


Leave a Reply

