Its Up To YOU

[tweetmeme source=”joliea” only_single=false]

I am very spontaneous when it comes to my writing. Yes, at times I have it all planned out but most of the times I just pick stuff out of my mind. Thoughts rush through my mind and I simply pick them as I write.

Now, as I said in my previous post, I wanted to write about “activism or the lack thereof”. I remember at the time I was thinking about whether activism is doing what it should. Whether it is being bold enough. And when I say activism I mean human rights activism. Now, for clarity’s sake, I like dealing with definitions. That way I can derive my point from an objective angle. (OK, maybe my view will be subjective.).

The meaning of the word activism:

Activism, can be described as intentional action to bring about social, political, economic, or environmental change. This action is in support of, or opposition to, one side of an often controversial argument.

Therefore we can conclude that activism in simple terms involves taking informed actions to achieve something you feel is not being addressed. For example, if one feels that children are not being treated properly either by parents, teachers, peers, government etc then one takes a “direct and militant” action to see that their rights are being addressed.

So where does “free will” come in? Okay, it may not be directly involved with activism so I will just say that I had to mention the above. I tend to be like that in my posts by the way. Don’t know if its spontaneity or what! Never mind!

Free your mind. (pc: ohermenauta.wordpress.com)

I believe free will has everything to do with how we human beings conduct our lives. As much as I believe in the power of love, I also believe in the power of choice and free will. It is said that God gave man free will to do as he pleases. I am no preacher, so don’t expect a sermon! A quick summation of the meaning of that saying is that it is up to us. I believe it is us who choose our paths. Now now, this is not news to anyone (I presume) and all of us know this. But do we stop and critically think about it? Do we not see how it has a huge hold on us? Do we not realise that it is through gaining that realisation that we see “the light at the end of the tunnel”?

What am I talking about? I am saying that it is this free will, God given, that determines how we live our lives. I call myself “a lover of humanity”. Why? Because I believe in love. And I see its dire need in us. In our society. In our lives. In our families. In our relationships. Everywhere.

It is free will that will determine whether or not a man aged about 25 can kill people (note I didn’t say ‘innocent’) and dump their bodies in swamps and blame it on a cult. It is free will that will make him choose whether or not to go ahead and “obey the orders” he was given. It is free will that will determine whether or not we will vote for the new constitution (though I tend to think so unfortunate that a lot of the votes will be politically influenced). It is through this free will that humanity can be peaceful and coexist but then…I go back to my earlier post. Some think that a “peaceful world” is more or less Utopia. Hmmm… How I wish that would happen!

We make choices everyday whether or not we want to. When you wake up, you decide to wake up. You decide to get out of bed. You decide to go to the bathroom, take a shower, brush your teeth, make breakfast, dress up, walk or drive to work or wherever else you are going. It all boils down to one thing. CHOICE.

Now, I don’t like long posts so I will wind up. Back to free will. There is something I tell people close to me about their minds and the immense power it holds. For example, the weather in Nairobi is not rosy. On the contrary, its awful! Its cold, sunny, chilly, rainy, hot…all at the same time! Most of us will get colds and flus and all manner of stuff that can be brought about by the conditions. Here is how I see it. It is up to us to choose what to do about it. You can decide to drown yourself in sorrow and say “oh I cant help catching a cold. Its a given” or you can say “well, its cold and thats the reality but I will try not to catch a cold. And if it does catch me, it will be gone before you know it”. What’s the point here? Its all in your head! Thats what weve heard people tell us. Its all in your head. Its all in your mind. If you think bad things, bad things will most likely come your way. If you think positively, its those positive things that will most likely come your way.

Make use of your brain. Excersice your mind. Don’t let your body lead your life, YOU lead your life.

It is up to YOU!

p.s. In as much as I think this is my blog and thus I should do things my way, I like order and, well, quite frankly, I know I can do better. BUT seeing that it is my nature, (duuh! Who’s perfect??) I will keep saying “Imma do me!” Just had to say that. Really!

13 Responses to “Its Up To YOU”

  1. ngeny Says:

    great post. Yeah at the end of it all it comes down to what we chose!!

    • Joliea Says:

      Thanks for commenting ngeny 🙂

      • ngeny Says:

        U welcome 😉

  2. cdohnio Says:

    Nice! It’s all about choice… Everyone needs to keep that in mind.

    • Joliea Says:

      Yes indeed.

      Thanks for commenting. 🙂

  3. kw Says:

    Ditto.life is not a game of dice, throwing it to see where you land, you choose life..
    “duuh! Who’s perfect?? I will keep saying “Imma do me!” Just had to say that. Really!”
    Bwhahahahahahaha!

    • Joliea Says:

      Hehe!!

      It simply must have been said!!

      Thanks kw for being such a loyal reader 😀 Much appreciated!!

  4. Maina Says:

    Free will? Yes. It is all in our minds? No. Just do what you believe is right and expect the best. That is all.

    • Joliea Says:

      Thanks Chiira 🙂

  5. Wyndago Says:

    Well, it was your post, but it confuses me! But I agree with what you say, you just don’t demonstrate how true it is or simply why you say what you say. In reality though, there’s no one person with all the answers.
    And yeah, you just do you! 🙂

    • Joliea Says:

      True Wyndago, I can only say much. If I started describing what I mean, I will probably go round and round in circles but maybe more light will be shed. I shall continue doing soo though because I may as well do so now if not later!

  6. shee Says:

    True.. most of us “blame it on the weatherman” yet we had choices. Like living in a house full of mold yet you can shift houses…..

    Very well said!

    • Joliea Says:

      Thanks Shee 🙂


Leave a Reply

