29 Years Later, RIP Bob Marley!

[tweetmeme source=”joliea” only_single=false]

Bob Marley

Robert Nesta “Bob” Marley (February 6, 1945 – May 11, 1981) was a Jamaican singer-songwriter and musician. He was the lead singer, songwriter and guitarist for the skarocksteady and reggae bands The Wailers (1964–1974) and Bob Marley & The Wailers (1974–1981). Marley remains the most widely known and revered performer of reggae music, and is credited for helping spread both Jamaican music and the Rastafari movement to a worldwide audience.[1]

Marley’s best known hits include “I Shot the Sheriff“, “No Woman, No Cry“, “Could You Be Loved“, “Stir It Up“, “Jamming“, “Redemption Song“, “One Love” and, together with The Wailers, “Three Little Birds“,[2] as well as the posthumous releases “Buffalo Soldier” and “Iron Lion Zion“. The compilation album, Legend (1984), released three years after his death, is reggae’s best-selling album, being 10 times Platinum(Diamond) in the U.S.,[3] and selling 20 million copies worldwide.[4][5]

(Source: Wikipedia)

The above is the first two paragraphs of Bob’s page on Wikipedia. I am not much of a reggae fan, but I did love his music and I did love his activism. Its these kind of people that this world needs. Movers of time. Changers of perceptions. Shakers of history.

I loved his music. I still love his music. Those songs make you wanna mellow around. Feel all strong again. And if you like Activism like me, especially human rights, you feel his music to the core!

He died because of illness and the sad part is, he felt the life going out of him :(. He died at 36 yrs. Imagine. Makes you wonder why such influencers die so quickly.

Still Resting in Peace. Hail BOB MARLEY!

Robert Nesta "Bob" Marley (February 6, 1945 – May 11, 1981)

7 Responses to “29 Years Later, RIP Bob Marley!”

  1. Tweets that mention 29 Years Later, RIP Bob Marley! « Me I Think… -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Push Mobile (TZ) Ltd, Push Mobile (TZ) Ltd and Barbra Jolie, Barbra Jolie. Barbra Jolie said: 29 Years Later, RIP Bob Marley!: http://wp.me/pRYFP-1z […]

  2. wyndago Says:

    Love his music too.

  3. mutheu Says:

    here’s to loving the man, his music and his activism!

  4. Omes Says:

    One word: LEGEND…
    RIP Robert Nesta Marley.

    http://makwanye.wordpress.com/

  5. Terrell Viverette Says:

    R.I.P
    Mathafuckin bob marley smokein dat cusssssssssssshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
    NIGGA…………………….

  6. Alexandria Victoria Says:

    Bob Marleyy, Hmm That nigga smoken 24/7 now that he gonee,<3
    R.I.P Marleyy,<3(:

  7. #My5Links: My Five Links « Me I Think… Says:

    […] Well I can’t hide the fact that this is a soft spot for me. Intersexuality issues are dear to me since it is one of those issues that are still “hush-hush” and moreso largely misunderstood and ignored. I hope some day I do more than just talk and blog about this. Its gonna happen for sure. 3. Post whose success surprised me: The Bob Marley Post  […]


Leave a Reply

