Why Human Rights?

[tweetmeme source=”joliea” only_single=false]

As my post title goes, I often seem to ask myself that question. Why human rights? Why all the emphasis? And why should it be a problem to us?

Well, simple. Because we are human. Period.


We are all human beings. The declaration of human rights puts it quite clearly…

“All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights and all human rights are universal, interdependent, indivisible, and interrelated”

Its clear cut and very easy to understand if you ask me. As in, we are all equal. All of us. There is no chagua chagua.

There is no “some are more equal than others” unless you’re a politician in Kenya, or wish to be one because thats never it. It never will be either.

I can only say why I call myself a human rights defender/activist. I do it because first of all, I am human and I respect humanity. On my facebook page, my description goes…

“Extremely open-minded, unique, distinct, lovingly lovable, believes in the power of Peace Love Unity and Respect, ardent human rights activist & defender, friend, sociable, and intrepid! A bundle of simplistic class & creativity!”

That description already covers my love for humanity and my belief in PLUR. I am passionate about human rights especially so because its imperative that some voice be heard. There aren’t too many young voices out there making enough noise about it and I want to be one of the few that will raise theirs. I want to see change in our society.

Too many evils are going on in our society. Most of it is because of blantant disrespect for human beings in general. We don’t respect each other. That is one of my major concerns. But the one thing that really gets me going is my faith and belief in LOVE. I hold those infamous two greatest commandments by Jesus in high regard because I believe they hold the key to having good relationships with one another. They are the best way to live. Follow these two and trust me, you will have a fulfilling life. Here they are.

1.Love the Lord your God with all your heart, mind and strength.
2.Love your neighbour as you love yourself.

Another bit of scripture that I go back to constantly is 1st Corinthians 13, the one about love. Here it is.

“4Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.”

In essence, you get my point. For me, its mostly about loove. I love people. I love people regardless. Fine, I don’t like bad behaviour, but I truly believe that people aren’t meant to be bad. Call me naïve but thats the way I feel.

Love someone this week!

4 Responses to “Why Human Rights?”

  1. Wyndago Says:

    I feel you. Makes me want to meet you!

    • Joliea Says:

      Thanks Wyndago.

      That time will definitely come!

  2. Kanju Says:

    Hmm I’m a bit cynical about this these days but deep down I know that what you’ve written is actually true.

    • Joliea Says:

      It indeed is. Untill we as human beings realise that we are unique and special, we can never make any serious progress.


Leave a Reply

